

MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE FIREFIGHTERS' PENSION INVESTMENT FUND ELECTION PANEL SEPTEMBER 20, 2022

A regular meeting of the Firefighters' Pension Investment Fund of Illinois Election Panel was held on Thursday, July 29, 2021 at 2:00 p.m. at the FPIF Headquarters located at 1919 S. Highland Avenue – Building A, Suite 237, Lombard, Illinois 60148 and via videoconference in accordance with Public Act 101-0640, pursuant to notice.

I. Call to Order

Without objection, Panel Member Devaney requested for purposes of calling the meeting to order that he act as Chairperson pro tempore.

Panel Member Devaney called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

II. Taking of the Roll

Robina Amato took the roll. Panel Members Pat Devaney, Kurt Snow and Patrick Hayes were all present, there were no absences.

Also present: Director Bill Atwood, COO Steve Zahn, CFO David Zaloga and Member Services Officer Robina Amato, FPIF Staff; Trustees Herb Roach, Tom Dailly, Greg Knoll, John Perry and Chairman Sullivan, FPIF Board of Trustees

III. Election of the Chairperson

The Panel discussed nominating Pat Devaney as the chairperson of the FPIF Election Panel; no other nominations were made. A motion was made by Panel Member Snow and seconded by Panel Member Hayes to elect Pat Devaney as the Chairman of the FPIF Election Panel. Motion carried by roll call vote.

AYES: Panel Members Hayes, Snow and Devaney

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

IV. Review of Election Panel Responsibilities

Steve Zahn presented a memorandum detailing the responsibilities of the FPIF Election Panel including the appointment of an Election Panel Clerk, determination of an initial slate of candidates and certification of the election results.

V. Appointment of Election Panel Clerk

The panel nominated Steve Zahn to serve as the Election Panel Clerk for the 2022 FPIF Trustee Election. A motion was made by Panel Member Hayes and seconded by Panel Member Snow to appoint Steve Zahn as the FPIF Election Panel Clerk. Motion carried by roll call vote.

AYES: Panel Members Hayes, Snow and Chairman Devaney

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

VI. Report on Candidate Nominating Petitions

Steve Zahn informed the panel that as of 12:00 PM on September 16, 2022 five individuals had submitted nominating petitions. Mr. Steven Burnell, active-duty firefighter from the Lincolnshire-Riverwoods FPD and Jason Skilondz, active-duty firefighter from the Wheaton Firefighters' Pension Fund submitted nominating petitions for the Participant Trustee position; Mr. Gregory Knoll, retired firefighters from the Homewood Firefighters' Pension Fund submitted nominating petitions for the Beneficiary Trustee Position; and Douglas Krieger, City Manager from Naperville and John Perry, Treasurer for the Lisle-Woodridge Fire Protection District submitted nominating petitions for the Execute Trustee Position.

VII. Determination of the Initial Slate of Candidates

Based upon the information given in the Election Panel Clerk's report of nominating petitions, the FPIF Election Panel discussed the slate of candidates for the 2022 FPIF Trustee Election as follows: Steven Burnell with 949 signatures submitted and Jason Skilondz with 433 signatures submitted for the Participant Trustee Position; Gregory Knoll with 295 signatures submitted for the Beneficiary Trustee Position; Douglas Krieger with 27 signatures submitted and John Perry with 53 signatures submitted for the Executive Trustee Position. A motion was made by Panel Member Snow and seconded by Panel Member Hayes to approve the slate of candidates for the 2022 FPIF Trustee Election as stated. Motion carried by roll call vote.

AYES: Panel Members Hayes, Snow and Chairman Devaney

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

VIII. Schedule of Upcoming Meetings

Chairman Devaney noted the next meeting of the FPIF Election Panel will be held on Thursday, October 6, 2022.

IX. Other Business

There was no other business to come before the panel.

X. Public Comment

There was no request for Public Comment.

XI. Adjournment

A motion was made by Panel Member Snow and seconded by Panel Member Hayes to adjourn the meeting at 2:14 p.m. Motion carried by roll call vote.

AYES: Panel Members Hayes, Snow and Chairman Devaney

NAYS: None ABSENT: None